facebook pixel

Footscray

$305 / week

Dining Room

Dining Room


Deposit $610
Minimum stay 4 weeks
Meals Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Internet Yes
Smoking No
Can pickup airport? No
House has pets? Yes
Available from 31 May 2021
Available to 31 Dec 2025

Thank you for looking at our profile.

We are a professional family, with a 9 year old son, with a large family home in Footscray. Our household is quiet and very friendly, and we all enjoy meeting new people.

Our house is very convenient for public transport with buses within 200 metres of the house, and a tram outside the front gate. Our house is 5km from the city centre, and it takes approximately 20 minutes to reach the centre of the city by public transport. While our house is very close to public transport, it is very quiet.

Our house is fully air conditioned for heating and cooling. There are individual air conditioning units and built-in wardrobes in every bedroom. As Peter works in Information Technology, the Internet in the home is very good with 1Gbps wired connections in every room, and high speed wi-fi throughout the house.

Peter is Australian, and Tuk is of Thai background, and we cook a mixture of European and Thai food. Both Peter and Tuk can speak Thai. Peter works in the city as an IT Executive, and Tuk is a Early Childhood Educator, who works at a Kindergarten close to our home.

Both of us have current Working with Children checks and Police checks that are required in Australia for students under 18 years old.

We have a very well behaved and friendly ragdoll cat, Max who lives with us. For those who don't know ragdolls, they are the most gentle, well behaved cat breed, and very different in behaviour from normal cats.

We have hosted students from many different countries, including Japan, China, and Thailand. We enjoy learning about different cultures, helping students to learn about Australia, and succeed in their studies here.

We have 1 bedroom upstairs for students, with a seperate a bathroom and toilet. There are 2 other bathrooms in the house for Tuk, Matthew, and I to use.

We have a regular cleaner, who cleans the bathrooms and living areas. Students will need to clean their bedroom and wash clothes using our washing machine and clothes dryer.

We live in Footscray, which is one of the suburbs in Melbourne with many Asian people. Footscray was recently rated as the 13th coolest neighbourhood in the world, and has a very multi-cultural feel, with lots of cafes and restaurants. Our local shopping centre (2 kms / 10 minutes from our house by public transport) has several Chinese supermarkets, a Thai supermarket, many Vietnamese shops, and an Asian food market. There is also a large shopping mall (Highpoint) 10 minutes from our house (by bus or tram).

The weekly rate includes all bills, wi-fi, and 3 meals each day. You will need to buy a transport card (Myki) and sim card for your phone, and we can help you to organise this. You will also need to provide your own soap, shampoo, and toiletries. All sheets, towels, and blankets/quilts are provided for you.

Verification

  • Basic member
  • Phone verified

Contact

Places Nearby

  • Victoria University - Footscray Park Campus

    is 1 km away (5 mins by bus)
  • Footscray Railway Station

    is 2 km away (9 mins by tram)
  • Highpoint Shopping Centre

    is 2 km away (9 mins by tram)
  • Victoria University - Nicholson St Campus

    is 2 km away (13 mins by tram)
  • RMIT

    is 5 km away (20 mins by train)
  • Ozford College

    is 6 km away (29 mins by train)
  • Embassy English College

    is 6 km away (31 mins by train)
  • University of Melbourne

    is 7 km away (33 mins by bus)
  • Holmes Institute - Spring St

    is 9 km away (30 mins by train)
  • Monash College

    is 9 km away (33 mins by train)

Similar Hosts